VIDEO & PICTURES: 2013 Golden Icons Academy Movie Awards (GIAMA)

The 2nd annual GIAMA started off in spectacular fashion; with superstar host Ramsey Nouah arriving in grand style in a private helicopter and being escorted to the Stafford Centre in a Mercedes-Benz S-class. Although the helicopter was originally scheduled to land on the red carpet, however, due to safety and permit issues in the last hour, we had to land it across the street from the venue, and had to shuttle him from there.

Fans cheered on his arrival and were even more elated when he hit the stage with James Bond themed opening number. The star-studded event featured several highlights including rib-crabbing jokes from comedians AY, Seyi Brown and Jedi who kept the crowd continuously entertained. Other side attractions of the day were Dance performances to PSquare’s Personaly, Alingo, just mention a few and special music performance by the Refuges …. The highlight moments of the day also included the honorary award presentation for Lancelot Imaseun and Richard Mofe Damijo (RMD).

The nominees/stars at the event include, but not limited to: RMD, Fred Amata, Ramsey Nouah, AY, Desmond Elliot, Uche Jombo, Jackie Appiah,  Chioma Chukukwa, Yvonne Nelson, Gentle Jack, Pascal Atuma, Chet Anekwe, Charles Novia, Uti Nwachukwu, Alex Ekubo, Ik Ogbona, Belinda Effah, Uru Eke, Mary Lazarus, Adjate Annang, Emem Isong, Uduak Isong, Moses Inwang, Dayo Amusa

The GIAMA Awards is proudly supported by Arik Airlines, BellaNaija, Zonatek, Dure Events, Segun Gele, Nollywood Access, Nollywood View, Victory Media Pro, City People Magazine, The Nation, Sun, Bashman Entertainment, Naijapals, Jaguda, Sturvsand several other organizations listed on GIAMA’s website.


Photo by Nenaji Media

List of Winners

Best Motion Picture – Ninah’s Dowry

Best Drama – Finding Mercy

Best Cinematography – Red Hot

Best Comedy – Okon goes to School

Best Costume – Twin Sword

Best New Actress – Mbufung Seikeh – Ninah’s Dowry

Best New Actor – Seun Akindele – On Bended Knees

Best Actor – Adjetey Annan – The Hunters

Best Actress – Ireti Doyle – Torn

Best Director – Kunle Afolayan – Phone Swap

Producer of the year – Abdul Salam – The Hunters

Best Supporting Actor – Alex Ekubo – Weekend Getaway

Best Supporting Actress – Kate Henshaw – False

Best Original Screenplay – Desperate Housegirls

Best Sound – Last Flight to Abuja

Best Original Soundtrack – Mrs Somebody

Best Film Diaspora – Still Standing

Best Film Director – Diaspora – Desmond Elliot and Bethels Agomuoh – Unguarded

Best Actor (Viewer’s Choice) – Mike Ezuruonye

Best Actress (Viewer’s Choice) – Ini Edo

Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award – Richard Mofe-Damijo

Honorary Directing Achievement Award – Lancelot Imasuen







Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: