, pub-5681275024042777, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

Thomas Naadi Bitlegma of Viasat1 wins 2015 CNN Multichoice Journalist of the Year Award for Environment

Ghana’s Thomas Naadi Bitlegma has won the 2015 CNN Multichoice Journalist of the Year Award for Environment sponsored by The African Development Bank.

Naadi Bitlegma works for local television station Viasat 1. Ghana’s other nominee Fiifi Anaman was unable to win the Sports category which went to Nigeria’s Arukaino Umukoro of The Punch Newspaper.

Burkina Faso Journalist, Hyacinthe Boowurosigue Sanou, won the overall award.

The CNN/MultiChoice African Journalist 2015 is Hyacinthe Boowurosigue Sanou, Burkina Faso #AfricanJournoAwards #AJA20

— AfricanJournoAwards (@AfricanJourno) October 10, 2015

This year’s finalists enjoyed an all-expense paid four-day programme of workshops, media forums and networking in Kenya, culminating in a Gala Award Ceremony Saturday.

The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2015 competition is open to African professional journalists, whether directly employed or freelancers, working in the continent of Africa, and who have produced a story which has been made available as a printed publication or broadcast through an electronic medium (television; radio or digital platform) whose primary audience are based in Africa.

Entries were published or broadcast in 2014.

The independent judging panel was chaired by Ferial Haffajee, Editor-in-Chief, City Press, South Africa, and also had Debo Adesina, Editor-in-Chief, Guardian Newspapers, Nigeria; Nima Elbagir, Senior International Correspondent, CNN; Jean-Paul Gérouard, Editor-in-Chief, France Télévisions ; Fernando Gonçalves, Editor, Savana, Mozambique; Anton Harber, Caxton Professor of Journalism, University of the Witwatersrand; Joel Kibazo, Director of Communications and External Relations, African Development Bank Group; Amadou Mahtar Ba, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, AllAfrica Global Media; Wanja Njuguna, Senior Lecturer, Polytechnic of Namibia & CNN Journalist of the year 2000; José Sebastião Paulo, Professor of Journalism, University Agostinho Neto, Angola; and, David Ohito, Digital Editor, The Standard Media Group, Kenya as members.naadi

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: