Shatta Wale ‘tops’ Vodafone Ghana Music Awards 2014 nominations

Shatta Wale

Shatta Wale: Favourite to win Artiste of the Year

The Golden Tulip Hotel in Accra was last Saturday crowded with musicians as Charter House, launched the 15th edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards.

The launch also saw the release of the nominations. Dancehall act and favourite artiste to rule this year’s awards, Shatta Wale grabbed four nominations in the following categories; Vodafone Song of the Year, Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year, Producer of the Year and overall top award, Artiste of the Year with his biggest hit, Dancehall King song.

His collaboration with rapper Pop Skinny on ‘Hot Cake’ earned him a nomination in the Best Collaboration of the Year and Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year categories.

Also his feature on D2’s ‘Fever’ earned the song nominations in the Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year category.

Artistes nominated for the Artsite of the Year are Castro, Kwabena Kwabena, Sonnie Badu, Shatta Wale, Sarkodie, Samini and Guru

Winners of the following categories will also be known at the industry awards and main award ceremony later in the year: Best Music Video, Instrumentalist of the year, Music for development, Traditional artist of the year, Sound engineer of the year, Lifetime Achievement Award, MUSIGA merit award

Check out the full list of nominations that were announced.

Artsite of the Year
Kwabena Kwabena
Sonnie Badu
Shatta Wale

New Artiste of the Year
Joey B
Kumi Guitar

Highlife Artiste of the Year
Bisa Kdei
Kwabena Kwabena

Gospel Song of the Year
Osoree Nnwom – Cecelia Marfo
Maher-Shalal-Hash-Baz- Nicholas Omane Acheampong
Wonder God – Sonnie Badu
Maye Se Mo Pen – OJ
Nyame Egwamaa – Joyce Blessing feat. Jewel Ackah
Menu – Patience Nyarko 

Best Female Vocal Performance
Efya – Life
Joyce Blessing – Nyame Egwamaa
Miriam Afari – Ashei Nyame
Gena West – No Power Against Me 

Best Male Vocal Performance
Sonnie Badu – Wonder God
OJ- Maye Se Mo Pen
Knii Lante – Baby Take Good Care
Kwabena Kwabena – Engya Me Ho
Castro – Odo Pa 

African Artiste of the Year

Gospel Artiste of the Year
Sonnie Badu
Nicholas Omane Acheapong
Joyce Blessing
Patience Nyarko 

Hiplife/ Hip Hop Artiste of the Year
Joey B 

Afro Pop Song of the Year
Latext – Edem feat. Kaakie
Million Pound Girl – Fuse ODG
Dance (Neke Neke) – Itz Tiffany
Slow – R2Bees feat. Wizkid
Dance For Ne – Ruff N Smooth

Highlife Song of the Year
Adult Music – Kwabena Kwabena
Odo Pa – Castro feat. Baby Jet & Kofi Kinaata
Love – R2Bees
Metanfo-  Bisa Kdei
Break Into 2 – Kumi Guitar

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year
Freaky Girl – Jupiter
Pull Up – Stonebwoy
Hot Cake – Pope Skinny feat. Shatta Wale
Dancehall King – Shatta Wale
Fever – D2 feat. Shatta Wale
Scatter Badmind – Samini 

Vodafone Song of the Year
Adult Music – Kwabena Kwabena feat. Samini
Odo Pa – Castro Feat. Baby Jet & Kofi Kinaata
Slow Down – R2Bees Feat. Wizkid
Dancehall King – Shatta Wale
Metanfo – Bisa Kdei
Tonga – Joey B feat. Sarkodie
Maye Se Mo pen – OJ
Akaiyida (Boys Abr3) – Guru
Down On One – Sarkodie feat. Fuse ODG
Million Pound Girl – Fuse ODG 

Record of the Year
Trigmatic – Wo Sika Nti
Knii Lante – Baby Take Good Care
Tseataa (Josh Laryea) – Everlasting Love
Akwaboah – I Do Love You 

Best Collaboration of the Year
Odo Pa – Castro feat. Baby Jet & Kofi Kinaata
Down On One- Sarkodie feat. Fuse ODG
Slow Down – R2Bees feat. Wizkid
Adult Music-Kwabena Kwabena
Azonto Boys-Guru Feat. Lil Win
Hot Cake-Pope Skinny Feat. Shatta Wale
Nyame Egwamaa-Joyce Blessing Feat. Jewel Ackah

Album of the Year
Sarkology – Sarkodie
Heavy Price- Joyce Blessing
Aroma of Worship – Sonnie Badu
Akaiyida (Boys Abr3) – Guru 

Song Writer of the Year
Maye Se Mo Pen – OJ
Wo Sika Nti – Trigmatic
Engya Me Ho – Kwabena Kwabena
Baby Take Good Care – Knii Lante
Baba – Bisa Kdei

Producer of the year


Shatta Wale



DJ Breezy

Bisa Kdei

Source: GhanaGist.Com

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: