See The List Council Of State Members Who Adviced President Mahama To Free Montie 3

The Council of State is enjoined by Ghana’s 1992 Constitution (Reference Chapter 9, Article 89) to “counsel the President in the performance of his functions”.

The Council is required to “consider and advise the President or any other authority in respect of any appointment which is required by the constitution or any other law to be made in accordance with the advice of, or in consultation with the Council…”

The council, upon request or on its own initiative is to “consider and make recommendations on any matter being considered or dealt with by the President, a Minister of State, or any other authority established by the Constitution.

The current members of the Council of State are:

  • Mrs. Cecilia Johnson, Presidential Appointee
  • Mr. Henry Martey Newman, Presidential Appointee
  • Okogyeman Kwaku Gyamprah, Presidential Appointee
  • Tutulewura Rashid Sulemana Mahama, Presidential Appointee
  • Awoamefia of Anlo, Togbe Sri III, Presidential Appointee
  • Nana Baffuor Osei Asibey II, Debuosehene, Presidential Appointee
  • Mr. David Adeenze Kanga, Presidential Appointee
  • Mrs. Ama Benyiwa-Doe, Presidential Appointee
  • Sir. Dr. Edward Nminyour Gyader, Presidential Appointee
  • Opanyin Pastor Abraham Kwaku Adusei, Presidential Appointee
  • Dr. Rabiatu Deinyo Ammah, Presidential Appointee
  • Mr. George Kofi Dadzie, Representing the Western Region
  • Dr. Percival Afred Kuranchie, Representing the Central Region
  • Mr. Emmanuel Adzei Anang, Representing the Greater Accra Region
  • Torgbui Binah Lawluvi VI, Representing the Volta Region
  • Nana Kodua Kesse II, Representing the Eastern Region
  • Vo-Naa Alhaji Baba Muhammed Bawah, Representing the Northern Region
  • Rt. Rev. Dr. Jacob Kofi Ayeebo, Representing the Upper East Region
  • Nana Saa Gyamfuaa II, Representing the Brong Ahafo Region
  • Nana Asiama Poku Afrifa II, Representing the Ashanti Region
  • Alhaji Seidu Bhat Braimah, Representing the Upper West Region
  • Wulugunana Naa Professor John S. Nabila, President of the National House Chiefs
  • Christopher Kobla Dewornu, Former Inspector General of Police
  • Lt. General Seth Kofi Obeng (Rtd.), Former Chief of Defence Staff
Council Of State MembersSource:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: