Princess Ocansey receives prestigious Bridge Builders Award in the USA during the Historic USA-Africa Leaders Summit in Washington, DC

Princess Ocansey receives prestigious Bridge Builders Award in the USA

Princess Ocansey giving her acceptance speech at the 2014 African Diaspora Bridge Builders Awards in Washington DC, USA. (From left to right) Her Excellency Dr. Erieka Bennett-AUDAF-Founder, Nana Kwame Ansah, Fumi Babalola- daughter of Princess Ocansey, Dr. Juliet Tuakli – former Deputy Director of FHI’s START program,UNFPA.

Princess Ocansey and other high profile honorees, such as Hollywood actor, Mr. Lou Gossett Jnr., and the Rita Marley Foundation were honoured at the 2014 African Diaspora Bridge Builders Awards Dinner.

The Mistresses of Ceremony were Hollywood’s Emmy award winning Ms. Lynn Whitfield and former Deputy Director of Family Health International START program, UNFPA, Dr. Juliette Tuakli.

The event, hosted at the plush Marriot at Metro Center in Washington D.C., honoured a group of esteemed countries, organizations and individuals that have been designated as African Diaspora Bridge Builders. The event was organized by the AU Diasporan African Forum, headed by Her Excellency Dr. Erieka Bennett.

The awardees have made major contributions in areas of economic and social development, health, education, strengthening relationships and opening opportunities that make it possible for the African Diaspora family to work, live, empower and contribute to the development of their homelands.

The prestigious list of honourees reads under the different categories:


Ghana, Ethiopia, Liberia, Tanzania


Africa Society of the National Summit on Africa (Bernadette Paolo, Esq., President & CEO)

African Diaspora Network/ ADN (Almaz Negash, Founder & President)

Africare (Dr. Darius Mans, President)

Constituency for Africa/ CFA (Melvin P. Foote, President)

Diaspora Africa Women’s Network/ DAWN (Semhar Araia, Founder & Executive Director)

Rita Marley Foundation (Nana Rita Marley OD, Founder)

The Nigerian House Committee on Diaspora Affairs (Honorable Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Chairperson)

TransAfrica (Danny Glover, Chairman of the Board)


Ufo Eric Atuanya Dr. Barryl Biekman

Ms. Xernona Clayton Lou Gossett, Jr.

Dr. Leonard Jefferies

General Fred Leigh & Dr. Karyn Trader-Leigh Brother Akbar Muhammad

Princess Naa Asie Ocansey Dr. Chika A. Onyeani

Ms. Jeannie B. Scott

Rev. Dr. Leon H. Sullivan (Posthumously)

Ambassador Dr. Bamanga Tukur

J. Eric Wright

H. E. Dr. Nkosazana Diamini Zuma

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: