Manchester United start 2013/14 Barclays Premier League season at Swansea!

New Manchester United manager David Moyes’ first test in the Barclays Premier League will be to take the Reds to Wales to face Swansea City on the opening day of the 2013/14 season.

It’s the first time the sides have met on the maiden day of a league campaign and the match is currently scheduled to kick-off on Saturday 17 August (all fixtures are subject to change; the first round of TV selections will be made in mid-July).

The Premier League’s 2013/14 fixtures were announced at 09:00 BST on Wednesday and, as always, make for interesting reading. Following what’s been, in recent seasons, a tricky trip to the Liberty Stadium, the defending champions’ schedule doesn’t get any easier.

Moyes’ men then host Chelsea at Old Trafford (Saturday 24 August) before travelling away to Liverpool (Saturday 31 August), welcoming Crystal Palaceto Manchester (Saturday 14 September) and then visiting Manchester City(Saturday 21 September).

The new Reds manager welcomes his former club, Everton, to Old Trafford on Tuesday 3 December, while his return to Goodison Park is United’s penultimate away game of the season (Saturday 19 April).

The festive fixtures include a trip to promoted Hull City on Boxing Day, then a visit to Norwich City (Saturday 28 December). The New Year will be brought in at Old Trafford with a 1 January game against Tottenham.

Fixtures at the business end of the season can be crucial to the title run-in and United’s last four come againstEverton (away), Norwich City (home),Sunderland (home) and Southampton(away). For now, though, all eyes are on opening day, when David Moyes will take charge of his first league game as Manchester United manager.

Manchester United2

17 – Swansea (A)
24 – Chelsea (H)
31 – Liverpool (A)

14 – Crystal Palace (H)
21 – Manchester City (A)
28 – West Brom (H)

5 – Sunderland (A)
19 – Southampton (H)
26 – Stoke City (H)

2 – Fulham (A)
9 – Arsenal (H)
23 – Cardiff (A)
30 – Tottenham (A)

3 – Everton (H)
7 – Newcastle (H)
14 – Aston Villa (A)
21 – West Ham (H)
26 – Hull City (A)
28 – Norwich City (A)

1 – Tottenham (H)
11 – Swansea (H)
18 – Chelsea (A)
28 – Cardiff (H)

1 – Stoke City (A)
8 – Fulham (H)
11 – Arsenal (A)
22 – Crystal Palace (A)

1 – Manchester City (H)
8 – West Brom (A)
15 – Liverpool (H)
22 – West Ham (A)
29 – Aston Villa (H)

5 – Newcastle (A)
12 – Hull City (H)
19 – Everton (A)
26 – Norwich City (H)

3 – Sunderland (H)
11 – Southampton (A)


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: