Ghana tops 2014 AfricaMagic Viewers’ Choice Awards nominations!

AfricaMagic on Thursday 12th December 2013 announced nominees for the second edition of the AfricaMagic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCAs) at the AfricaMagic’s 10th Anniversary celebration event which took place at the Landmark Village in Victoria Island, Lagos. 

The AMVCAs is fast becoming the most prestigious movie awards and a highlight on the continent’s entertainment calendar.  In total, 28 awards in 26 categories will be awarded at the 2014 AfricaMagic Viewers’ Choice Awards.

Ghanaian movie, Contract, produced by Sparrow Production, received the highest nominations and a total of seven Ghanaians, Shirley Frimpong Manso, Yvonne Okoro , Jackie Appiah, Ken Attoh, Majid Michel and Hertey Owusu were nominated in twelve categories.

Yvonne Okoro

Yvonne Okoro

Scheduled to take place on Saturday 8th March 2014 in Lagos, the AMVCAs, held in association with MultiChoice, and headline sponsor Amstel Malta, is to recognize and reward excellence in African film and TV.

Voting is currently now open for fans and viewers to choose their favourites in 9 categories via SMS by sending the code (in bracket) to 2783142100415 or online at Voting ends on March 3, 2014 and the winners in the other technically focused categories will be selected by an expert panel of judges.

In the hotly contested category of Best Movie are five titles – Last Flight to Abuja, Contract, Living Funeral, Flower Girl and Awakening. In the acting categories, a wide cross-section of Africa’s stars were also nominated. Best Actress in Drama nominees are Stephanie Wilson, Veronica Waceke, Nse Ikpe-Etim, Nkiru Sylvanus and Ivie Okujaiye. In the Best Actor in a Drama category, Juma Rajab Rashid, Hlomla Dandala and Tope Tedela are all nominated alongside Majid Michel, who scored two nominations.

AfricaMagic also announced a brand new category The New Era Award, which will recognize and honour individuals who have made significant contribution to creating a new era for African film and television. Nominees in this category are: Desmond Elliot, Kate Henshaw, Rita Dominic, Rukky Sanda and Uche Jombo.

M-Net Africa Managing Director Biola Alabi congratulated the nominees on their achievement and urged them to use their nominations as a source of future motivation. “We are so impressed by these skilled persons whose value to Africa must be recognized and honored. We send all the nominees our best wishes for the Awards but want to also remind them that their nomination is an acknowledgement of the remarkable work they have done and are continuing to do in creating compelling African entertainment. AfricaMagic is also delighted that the success of year one of these Awards can be so clearly seen in the sharp increase in the number of entries received this year.”

Alabi also thanked leading pay-TV operator MultiChoice Africa and sponsor Amstel Malta for their support. “As our headline sponsor, Amstel Malta, has proved to be an invaluable partner who truly understands the vision of these Awards to recognize and honour the African film and television community. Their investment into the AfricaMagic Viewers’ Choice Awards is deeply encouraging and greatly valued. The same must be said of our platform provider MultiChoice Africa, which has always been a pioneering leader in showcasing the skill and talent of Africa and Africans.”

Nominees for the 2014 AfricaMagic Viewers’ Choice Awards were selected by a nominee judging panel comprising some of the industry’s leading professionals and the selection process was verified by the accounting firm of SizweNtsalubaGobodo.

For more information on AfricaMagic and its programming log onto and

Below is the list of nominees:

Best Movie 2013
Obi Emelonye – Last Flight to Abuja
Udoka Oyeka & Orode Ryan – Living Funeral
Shirley Frimpong-Manso, Yvonne Okoro & Ken Attoh – Contract
Michelle Bello – Flower Girl
James Omokwe – Awakening

Best Movie Drama
Obi Emelonye – Last Flight to Abuja
Edwin Maina Kariuki – Nairobi Half Life
Udoka Oyeka & Orode Ryan – Living Funeral
Frank Rajah Arase – The Groom’s Bride
Jumafor Ajogwu & Chris Eneaji – Murder at Prime Suites

Best Movie Comedy
Uche Jombo – Lies Men Tell
Shirley Frimpong-Manso, Yvonne Okoro & Ken Attoh – Contract
Elvis Chucks – A Wish
Martins Onyebuchi Onyemaobi – The Fighter
Martins Onyebuchi Onyemaobi – The Hero

Best Movie Director
Obi Emelonye – Last Flight to Abuja
Tosh Gitonga – Nairobi Half Life
Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contact
Udoka Oyeka – Living Funeral
Frank Rajah Arase – Price
Amil Shivji – Shoeshine

Best Actress in a Drama
Stephanie Wilson – Living Funeral
Veronica Waceke – Higher Learning
Nse Ikpe-Etim – Journey to Self
Nkiru Sylvanus – Kiss And The Brides
Ivie Okujaiye – The Volunteers

Best Actor in a Drama
Juma Rajab Rashid – Siri Ya Mtungi
Majid Michel – Somewhere in Africa
Hlomla Dandala – Contract
Majid Michel – House of Gold
Tope Tedele – A Mile From Home

Best Supporting Actress
Valerie Kimani – Higher Learning
Jazymn Batchan – Still Standing
Liz Ameye – Living Funeral
Lance Handabile – Love Games
Tamara Eteimo – Desperate House Girls
Bikiya Graham-Douglas – Flower Girl

Best Supporting Actor
David Mulwa – Higher Learning
Ian Mbugua – House of Lungula
Desmond Elliot – Finding Mercy
Bimbo Manuel – Torn
Chris Attoh – Flower Girl

Best Actress in a Comedy
Funke Akndele – The Fighter
Funke Akndele – The Hero
Funke Akndele – Return of Sheri Koko
Mary Ogbonna – Clinic Matters
Jackie Appiah – Cheaters
Yvonne Okoro – Contract

Best Online Video
Stacy McDermott & Neville Ossai – Jungle Jewel: The Short Film
Mary Kaiyare – Deceit
Stanlee Ohikhuare – Kpian’s Premonition
Dorothy Ghettuba, Oyunga Pala – Next Big Host
Amarachukwu Onoh- Mother Tongue

Best Writer (Drama)
Shirley Frimpong-Manso & Hertey Owusu – Contract
Patrick Yaadar & Andy Boyo – Off The Hook
Akpor Kagho – Living Funeral
Fatima Jabbe – Battered
Pascal Amanfo – Single & Married

Best Writer (Comedy)
Jigi Bello – Flower Girl
Jahmal Holland – Still Standing
Ohis Udofia – Kuti’s Career Palace
Patrick Onyeka – The Place
Seun Arowojolu – Squatterz

Best Cinematographer
James Michael Costello – Last Flight to Abuja
Christian Almesberger – Nairobi Half Life
Idhebor Kagho – Living Funeral
Imoh Umoren – Have a Nice Day
Themba Masondo – Taxi Ride

Best Art Director
Barbara Minishi – Nairobi Half Life
Ken Attoh & Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contract
Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Apples Mini series Part 1&2
Kyle Quint – Siri Ya Mtungi
Frank Rajah Arase – The Piece

Best Sound Editor
Sola Awoponle – Ilari
Obi Emelonye – Last Flight to Abuja
Jordan Riber – Siri Ya Mtungi
Carl Raccah – Journey to Self
Maurice Kings – Murder at Prime Suites
Paul Apel – Blue Flames

Best Video Editor
Ben Nugent & Obi Emelonye – Last Flight to Abuja
Austin Faani Ikechukwu – Battle for Wealth
Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contract
Chucks Madu Success – Oga On Top
Jack Esterhuizen – Love Games Episode 25

Best Lightning Designer
Don Izuchukwu – Brother’s Keeper
Godwin Daniel – Living Funeral
Ifeoluwa Balogun – The Benjamins
Mohammed Zain – Nairobi Half Life
Eric Aghimien – A Mile from Home

Best Costume Design
Adeola Ramonu – Adebola Omo Oba
Doreen Estazia Noni – Siri Ya Mtungi
Catherine Kibugi – Sumu La Penzi Episode 5
Ruth Ndulu Maingi – Lies That Bind Episode 2 Season 2
Chiemela Nwagboso – The Kingdom

Best Make-up Artist
Elayne Okaya – Nairobi Half Life
Olabimpe Cole – Lekki Wives
Alex Gakumo – Sumu La Penzi Episode 1 Season 1
Michael Wawuyo – The Felistas Fable
Rehema Samo – Siri Ya Mtungi
Israel Moses – A Wish
Rosemary Obika, Redemption

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: