Ghana draw Togo, Guinea in 2015 AFCON qualifiers

Ghana's Black Stars

Ghana’s Black Stars

Ghana’s Black Stars will play in Group E alongside Togo and Guinea for the final round of qualifiers of the 30th edition of the 2015 African Cup of Nations (AFCON).

According to;

The Black Stars have been drawn in Group E alongside Togo and Guinea for the final round of qualifiers of the 30th edition of the 2015 African Cup of Nations (AFCON).

Three teams were drawn into each group at yesterday’s ceremony at the Confederation of African Football (CAF) headquarters in Cairo, Egypt .

The final team to join the three West African sides in Group E would emerge from the eventual winners of two-leg ties between, Madagascar/Uganda versus Mauritania/Equatorial Guinea.

The Stars’ start their qualifying campaign against the yet-to-be-determined opponent on September 5 or 6 before flying to Lome to face the Hawks of Togo on September 10 2014.

The Black Stars will also play the Syli National of Guinea on October 10 or 11 in the final fixture of the first round of qualifiers.

In the second round, the Black Stars would host Guinea on October 15 before playing away to a yet-to-be-determined team on November 14 or 15 in the penultimate qualifier. 

The Stars end the two-month qualifier with a game at home against Togo on November 19, 2014.

Other pairings at the draw are Egypt against current AFCON holders, Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan and the winner of

Namibia/Congo Brazzaville versus Libya/Rwanda in Group A.

The Eagles of Mali who placed third at the 2012 and 2013 editions were placed in Group B alongside Algeria, Ethiopia and the winner of Sao Tome e Principe/Benin against Malawi/Chad.

Group C comprises the Stallions of Burkina Faso, Angola, Gabon and Liberia / Lesotho versus Kenya / Comoros Islands

Group D has the Elephants of Cote d’Ivoire, Cameroun, DR Congo and Swaziland/Sierra Leone versus The Gambia/Seychelles while Group F has Zambia, Cape Verde, Niger and the winner of Tanzania/Zimbabwe versus Mozambique/South Sudan.

Group G is also made-up of the Carthage Eagles of Tunisia, the Pharaohs of Egypt, the Teranga Lions of Senegal and a final team from the ties between Burundi/Botswana versus Central African Republic/Guinea Bissau. 

In all, 28 teams were drawn into seven groups of four, each group will be decided on a home and away round-robin basis. 

The winners and runners-up of each group, plus the best third-placed team along with the hosts Morocco, qualify for the finals scheduled for January 17 to February 8, 2015 in Morocco. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: