Davido, Mafikizolo win big at 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards #MAMA2014



By GhanaGist.Com

The 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards took place at the ICC Centre, Durban in South Africa on Saturday night. Nigeria’s Davido won two awards for Best Male Act and Artiste of the Year

Sarkodie made Ghana proud by winning the Hip Hop act of the Year award. Songstress Efya lost the Best Female category to Nigeria’s Tiwa Savage. Mafikizolo from South Africa won two awards for Best Group and Song of the Year.

Check out the full list ofwinners:

Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)

Best Female: Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group: Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Best New Act: Stanley Enow (Cameroon)

Best Live Act: Flavour (Nigeria)

Best Collaboration: “Y-tjukutja” – Uhuru Ft. Oskido, DJ Bucks, Professor and Yuri Da Cunha (South Africa/Angola)

Best Hip Hop: Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Alternative: Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)

Best Francophone: Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone: Anselmo Ralph (Angola)

Artist of the Year: Davido (Nigeria)

Song of the Year: “Khona” – Mafikizolo ft Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Video: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)

Best Pop: Goldfish (South Africa)

Best International: Pharrell

Personality of the Year: Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)

MTV Base Leadership Award: Ashish J. Thakkar (Tanzania)

Transform Today Award by Absolut: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: