Buffon, Ramos, Modrić and Ronaldo win positional awards

The 2016/17 UEFA Champions League season positional award winners have been named:

The inaugural winners were announced during Thursday’s 2017/18 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco.

Unsurprisingly, Real Madrid dominate the honours list. Last season Madrid became the first team in the UEFA Champions League era to retain the trophy, with captain Ramos, playmaker Modrić and top scorer Ronaldo all playing a key role in their campaign. The man Ronaldo beat twice in the 4-1 final defeat of Juventus – Bianconeri keeper Buffon – picks up the other award.

How the winners were chosen

The jury was composed of the coaches of the 32 clubs in the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League group stage, together with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, representing each of UEFA’s member associations. The coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own teams.

Jury members selected their top three players per position, with the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. The player who received the most points in each category was named the winner.

Award winners’ 2016/17 UEFA Champions League stats

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
Appearances: 12
Minutes: 1080
Clean sheets: 9
Goals conceded: 7

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Appearances: 11
Minutes: 1001
Clean sheets: 1
Goals conceded: 14
Goals: 1
Assists: 3

Luka Modrić (Real Madrid)
Appearances: 11
Minutes: 983
Goals: 0
Assists: 1

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Appearances: 13
Minutes: 1200
Goals: 12
Assists: 6

Source: UEFA

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: