All Africa Music Awards 2017 Live on GOtv: Sakordie, Shatta Wale, R2bees, etal, nominated

This weekend on GOtv, music fan can follow the 2017 All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) live on the special pop up channel 129. This year’s event hosted in Lagos will attract an A-list of celebrities from across Africa. In partnership with the African Union Commission, AFRIMA is aimed at celebrating the rich musical heritage of the African continent.

According to GOtv Ghana, General Manager, Kingsley Afful, “we are launching this special pop up channel for just this just weekend to air the AFRIMA’s”. The channel will open on Friday at 9pm with the AFRIMA Music Village, an evening of a non-stop music festival of live performances from the African stars and nominees.

GOtv subscribers no matter thon GOtv Plus can watch live on channel 129, the crème de la crème of African pop music converges at the Eko Hotel & Suites for a night of music, awards and performances for main awards event. Ghanaian musical duo R2bees have been nominated in two categories same as the Dark Suburb amongst other African acts.

Ghanaian Artiste Nominated

Best Female Artiste West Africa Becca – Na Wash featuring Patoranking.

Best Male Artiste West Africa Sarkodie – Pain Killer

African Fans Favourite Ebony –  Poison featuring Gatdoe

Album of The Year Dark Suburb – The Start Looks Like The End

Best African Collaboration Becca – Na Wash featuring Patoranking

Best African Collaboration R2bees – Tonight featuring Wizkid

Best African Collaboration Fuse ODG – Diary featuring Tiwa Savage

Best African Group R2bees – Tonight featuring Wizkid

Best African Artiste Jazz Khalisax – New day

Best African Artiste/Group Reggae/Dance Hall Shatta Wale – Taking Over

Best African Artiste/Group Reggae/Dance Hall Jah Phinga – One World One People featuring Henry

Best Artiste African Rock Dark Suburb – Terms

Other African talents which made the AFRIMA 2017 Nominees List include: Mr. Eazi (Nigeria); Mi Casa (South Africa); Psquare (Nigeria); AKA (South Africa); Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania); Victoria Kimani (Kenya) and Yemi Alade (Nigeria), Adekunle Gold(Nigeria) amongst others.

The 2017 AFRIMA’s will hold from November 10 to 12 featuring a rich programme of events such as the Africa Music Business Roundtable (November 10), the AFRIMA Music Village (November 10) and the Main Awards Ceremony (November 12); a glittery, star-studded and world-class event with live performances.

All the events at AFRIMA 2017 would be broadcast live across Africa all weekend on DStv (Ch.198) and GOtv (Ch.129). For the full list of nominees visit

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: